Trodamus

My Girlfriend Does Not Play ‘Marvel vs. Capcom 3’

In My Girlfriend Does Not Play Video Games, Video Games on February 22, 2011 at 5:11 pm

My girlfriend’s first introduction to Marvel vs. Capcom 3 was in questioning how I could justify spending seventy dollars on a video game.  Had they really gotten that expensive, she had asked, and if so why, how on earth could such a thing be worth that much, and so on.  Neither us is is quite used to games costing that much, I myself preferring a much more moderate price of forty to sixty dollars for new products, depending.  In this instance, the extra cost was accommodated in it being the collector’s edition.

This didn’t really help things.  That I generally find such special editions to be without sufficient worth as to merit their cost, which oftentimes (not in this case) exceeds that of several game purchases, did not help things either.

“It’s a collector’s edition,” I lamely told her, hoping the reverberation from my verbal resonance would sublimate her desire for further questioning.  Or perhaps give her a seizure.

“Are you doing that now?” she asked.  As external to nearly every facet to gaming culture, she was aware that games occasionally released with special editions.  She also knew that I disdained such editions, as we’d discussed this at length in Los Angeles when she’d seen a wall of them at Poe’s condo.

(Not that I can entirely fault Poe for patronizing special editions.  After all, he buys the regular edition in tandem.  Oh, and hi Poe!  Hopefully you were somewhat cognizant of my evaluation of your [lack] of sanity.  Otherwise, surprise!  And no hard feelings.)

I defended my purchase with Scottish Woman logic, that being that spending more money on a potentially discounted item than you ever would have normally is somehow “saving” money.  And in this case, the special edition offers the first set of character-based DLC for free when it releases next month, which as a conservative estimate will subsidize the entirety of the price kick for my purchase.

So she relented.  And then, I received it in the mail.  I played for some hours before she came home from work and pointedly asked why the women in these games were always nude.

Dammit.  It would be that she’d come in as I’d gotten Felicia on my team.

I didn’t have much to offer her.  She’s a catgirl, I’d offered by way of non-explanation.  She wanted to know why her hands were deformed.  I told her they were cat claws.  It was a weird conversation.

Going for something more neutral, I chose Deadpool, who she thought was mean.  Of course, his Fourth Wall Crisis hypercombo was lost on her, as she’d not versed in the visual parlance of gaming and didn’t understand how awesomely fourth wall brakey  it was that he beat his opponent with their own health bar.

In fact, she thought he seemed “mean.”  I told her he has cancer.  I think things evened out.

In the end, she was somehow left with a positive impression of the game, largely due to the art style and aesthetics.

  1. My wife’s been enjoying the sight of the game well enough, but that’s the type of wife I keep around.

    MvC3 is the kind of game I’m just pleased with despite it doing entirely what I expected it to. It really didn’t need to be much more than that, I but I do appreciate some of the more interesting playstyles certain characters sport (such as Spencer and Phoenix) and the fact that they managed to retain the triple tag team and frantic pacing while transitioning to 3D (yay, no more recycled sprites!) is certainly pleasing was well.

    In the case of this game, I think the Collector’s Edition is well worth it since the DLC provides largely offsets the cost. The case is actually pretty damn cool, and the comic inside has Dante calling Galactus a pimp, which I like.

    And in this case Trod, I bought two collector’s Editions. :p I’m a monster, I know.

  2. I adore some of the character inclusions. X-23, far from being a Wolverine clone, is pretty cool in her own right and her debut TPB, Nyx, is well worth the read. Of course, Tronne Bonne holds a special place in my heart and I hope Capcom takes her cult popularity as opportunity to make a new game for her.

    But that is bizarre, with some on the roster not having had a new game since ages ago; Tronne’s last game was PS1 era, while Viewtiful Joe’s was back on the PS2; the Darkstalkers all haven’t had a proper title since 1997. And the DLC will include Shuma Gorath, who hasn’t seen all that much action at Marvel outside of one issue.

    In terms of power levels, I think Chris bottoms out the roster. He’s really out of his depth here.

    The CE edition does have a nice case, but I think I would have preferred an art book to the mini comic, as I think they’ll be producing a TPB with this story collected in it soon. But largely, worth the extra cost due to the DLC thing.

    The game plays like a dream, just like a fighting game should. Combos are easy, flashy multi-character air combos are satisfying, and there’s alot of depth there that I am surprised to find myself getting in to.

    Speakin o’ which, stat tracker says you’ve barely played the darn thing. We could totally duke it out on Live, as my brother and I have been the past week.

    And lastly, yes you are a monster. Seriously, I understand it’s a hobby to play and a hobby to collect, but do you really need to blow an extra $70? What for? I mean, you’re either collecting for personal fulfillment, in which case I have to wonder why you need a duplicate, or you’re doing it so in thirty years your pristine, mint-condition MvC3 will be “worth more.” No bets on whether you’ll want to, or even be able to, sell it.

    I mean, you could be buying Bulletstorm and kicking people in their poop shoot.

  3. Chris feels like Cable, but perhaps less cheap. He seems in part to be a spiritual successor, at least.

    As for Tron Bonne, Capcom is developing Mega Man Legends 3 which fills me with girlish glee the likes of which you cannot conceive of. It’s reasonable to assume she’ll appear there. As an aside, the MML version of the title character appeared in Tatsunoku vs. Capcom on the Wii, so it seems in general they’re unwilling to abandon the iteration.

    Viewtiful Joe hasn’t been seen for a while, it’s true… but Okami is getting a se(pre?)quel on the NDS in the near future, so perhaps Joe isn’t in danger of facing abandonment just yet.

    I actually do rather like X-23, I was pleasantly surprised to find. She’s also a more pleasant alternative to the adamantium and bone-claw Wolverines in MVC2, which I thought was a little silly.

    As for my playing habits, well… I’ve played when I can, but as it’s my last semester I still have school work to contend with (more than I like) and some of my downtime is spent replaying Persona 4 at the moment, as it’s one off the best RPGs I’ve played in the last decade. I actually plan on revisiting Xenogears and Lunar 2 (Sega CD version) in the near future too, both games I love but haven’t played in ages.

    As for my collection, well, it’s a few things.

    One is that I’m anal (admittedly) about keeping my games in good condition. With most stuff I get, where I beat it and shelve it, this is fine. I expect to play MVC3 a lot over time. My copy of Rock Band 2 will attest to this sort of use, and it is part of why I hate CDs as a game format: try as you might, it’s a pain in the ass to keep them in good shape.

    That’s point 1. I am a collector and Capcom fighting games do tend to hold their value better. PSX and DreamCast ones in particular, and MVC2 was among the more highly priced titles in that set. Couple that with the fact that popular sealed games go for more in general, well… it’s a dirty slope and I don’t expect everyone else to climb. Even on my end not all my collector’s editions stay sealed, generally just ones I particularly liked or figure might hold up. Dead Space 2, for example, I opened. Fallout New Vegas I would have, but I haven’t had time to play it. At this point, a used copy will get cheaper when I have the time, and I’ve already helped fund the game anyways with the new copy I did buy. So I don’t feel bad.

    As for Bulletstorm… I’m not generally into shooters. I’m only planning on buying Duke Nukem Forever because of the sick novelty value of something that essentially took over a decade to develop. It begs at least that much. Otherwise, I need something in the way of what Bioshock or Portal offered me. Tell me the story is intriguing, and we’ll talk.

  4. I think many characters were adhered to out of tradition; that said, they’ve stated Ruby Heart, among other MvC2 hopefuls, will likely never make it into MvC3. So I’m happy for Tron either way.

    Even though the new MML game is coming to a handheld platform, which I’ve stated in the past my lack of use for. Ah well.

    Like I said, pick up Nyx; it shows at least one (1) instance of her butchering a pedophile. You won’t be disappoint.

    Should I note that you mention not having the time you once had, but basically laid out a play schedule of several 40-60 hour games? Though I’ll grant that my slow progress through such things is usually attributed to flittering about from one game to the next and back again, while focusing on multiplayer content with Jack and my brother.

    For your collection, well, it’s your hobby and money. I would never imagine you to mistreat a game in such a way as to necessitate a backup copy though. As well, keep in mind these mediums, CDs, DVDs and the like, not sure about Bluray, have a shelf life that’s yet to be tested. current projections show something like 20-30-50-100 years, depending. Discs are just plastic and foil, after all.

    But doesn’t digital distribution tank the value? MvC2 goes for $30-$500, and obviously those outliers are kind of nuts. Same goes for Castlevania: SotN, which had high value until the arcade rerelease. It all seems terribly subject to me.

  5. In my defense, these 40-60 hour games are indeed planned with slow or at least unsteady progress in mind (though Lunar 2 really only takes about 20 hours… yet it remains among the best damned 20 hours in my life).

    With that said, I’m wondering if I should add Panzer Dragoon Saga to the list…

    Well, some of it’s likely to spill into summer. I do have RPGs I haven’t played yet, especially Digital Devil Saga which I’ve heard (with both parts combined) is among the best of the decade. I don’t want to sink into something like that though, because with the ones I’m familiar with, I’m okay if I don’t get to play them for a little while due to more important distractions. The danger I’ve realized with anything new to me, is that if I really enjoy it I want to keep playing. No matter what.

    The effects of digital distribution I think will remain to be seen, especially in the long term. For rarer games, I think the sheer rarity of a hard copy will maintain its value, and most likely the first versions to suffer will be the reissues, Greatest Hits and the like, since original print tends to look nicer.

    PSX games are somewhat more recent, and for a point of comparison look more at NES and SNES classics which are available via digital distribution. Sealed and/or complete copies are likely to be valued higher (complete being more notable with games originally boxed in cardboard, which was often discarded) than current titles. Obviously me keeping sealed copies of current games is a crapshoot, but RPGs in particular often tend to retain their longterm value better than most. Certain titles, like FFVII, enjoyed a higher price for a long time because of renewed interest in the title due to sequelization, and the eventual digital release did eventually diminish the demand somewhat (I’d often referred to FFVII as the most common rare game out there).

    That said, I think longterm value for used games will be determined not only by completeness (which with CD games should be expected) but also by condition. Sealed games of course verify condition nicely, but the hard part with half the disc games out there (especially in the US) is that the techniques for sealing a package aren’t necessarily certifiable. The nice thing about PSX, some PS2 as well as 360 is that internal labels help at least better guarantee the original condition of the item.

    Of course, that’s probably more than you wanted to know. :-p Going back to what you said, the longevity of digital data has been a concern of mine… and truth be told, I think condition and care may be a factor. Despite the limitations of battery back-up, I can still find NES games that retain their save data, for example.

  6. Also, no Ruby Heart? That makes me a little sad.

  7. I am late to party.
    But I comment anyway.
    Am apparently russian today.

    Anyways, I look forward to coming up to Chicago and discussing with Jill why Deadpool is mean and sucks as a character. I can then tell Jill of SquirrelGirl who also holds this viewpoint and should rightfully have been in this game, minus the fact that she would simply win by very nature of being.

    And…I liked Chris. He looks like he shouldn’t be able to compete, but as I said while using him to drop the Hulk “He’s a pro at killing mutated freaks.” I’ll agree that he’s probably a balanced replacement for Cable which is good because…
    1) he’s balanced
    2) He’s not cable

  8. I do feel Deadpool is at least worth having for his quote. That said, I’m not a fan of the character, but seeing him in the opening movie being pitted against Dante at least made sense, if nothing else.

    Concerning Squirrel Girl, I’m hoping she’ll be the subject of DLC down the line. I’m assuming DLC will be used more for bringing back older characters, but given the fact that Jill Valentine’s moveset is based off her RE5 set rather than her MVC2 set, I’m not ruling out Capcom providing some new(ish?) material.

  9. I plan on being a huge DLC slut and will basically buy any character pack they release. Squirrel Girl would be nice, and the Makoto DLC for BlazBlue — basically a sexy squirrel girl — certainly whets the appetite.

    I like Deadpool. This doesn’t really go beyond enjoying his fourth-wall breakage, but in my mind it doesn’t really need to. But man, it would have been cool to have him and She-Hulk duke it out with such antics, and she used to basically have Deadpool’s schtick.

    My brother and I have ascribed rivalries to certain characters, and some characters, when beaten by them, do not contribute to hard feelings. Thus, Hulk is locked in eternal struggle against Arthur (who usually bests him), while Haggar beats God to death with his lead pipe.

    Good Times.

  10. I would say this, and I only say this because at the moment this is a free moment and I want to blather.

    In hopes of being a fair man I find my problem with Deadpool is the same problem that Wolverine suffers from. Here is a reminder that Wolverine is easily in my top heroes list. He used to be a pretty deep guy, truly a disturbed but noble, if not heroic, individual. Now he’s an angry beer drinker who kills people cause he has claws.

    So what is this problem? The fans. Not the ‘oh hey that’s funny’ fans such as Troddy-kun but the ones who post videos of deadpool on youtube and gain followers because ‘deadpool is hilarious.’
    I have read one Deadpool comic, and it was good. He had motives, and feelings, and depth. In this comic was a man who terrified Deadpool so much the Merc with a Mouth cried. Not fake tears, but genuine ‘he will take everything from me’ tears. But still he made the jokes, because it’s a defense mechanism and I imagine he’s simply one of those people who has to talk.
    His fourth wall breaking was more subtle, and could really have been a delusional aspect of his very real insanities.

    And then the fans loved him.

    Now he’s just this wacky homicidal maniac who makes the jokes and screams about being in a comic book. It has become, at least in the circles I lurk in, that if Deadpool appears we must laugh because surely what is occurring must be hilarious. He jokes and kills people, funny!

    In MvC3 he walks like a goof, because clearly every single minute thing he does has to be HILARIOUS. Sure they could have him move like some sort of highly trained killing machine designed to counter super powered foes on a regular basis, but the fans would hate it if he was true to form instead of funny.

    I apologize for going mostly off topic, but I luvs you guys and I was bored.

  11. I agree with you in regards to fandom being overbearing. I’ve actually never read Deadpool at all, in any way shape or form. I’m more familiar with the idea of why he’s popular.

    Basically, I find the idea of him amusing. In the context of this idea, I don’t particularly view Deadpool as a character I’d want to see in serious fiction. Though technically, I would largely say the same about Squirrel Girl, whom I’ve also never read but find the concept of amusing (and, admittedly, more appealing by comparison).

    Not so much regarding Deadpool’s walk (which I gave little thought to) I do like the idea of him beating people up with the life bar and whatnot… but, this does pretty much embrace that fourth wall breaking method in a manner that’s appropriate to the setting. I imagine in a comic book it could become grating (I can only guess how often the jokes are eventually recycled).

    And that said, yeah, I like Wolverine as a character as well, but revile the fanbase for blowing him out of proportions (well, some of the writers too, really). I could also say the same about Venom, who I find engaging in small doses, but blame in great part of the ruin of Spider-man 3.

    Of course, I’ll remind all concerned that my favorite X-Man is still Cyclops. No danger of his fanship spinning out of control. Most people find him too dull. :-p

  12. In a perfect world, or more accurately one where I write for marvel, Cyclops would get some heavy play.

    In comics I would take pains to show him as the ‘best’ X-man. Because that’s what he should be, the best example of a mutant. Also, I’d lightly, but unequivocally, show him as capable of taking down any of the other X-men, because he is super awesomely trained. One of the bits of “Ultimate X-men” I actually enjoyed was the second fight between Cyclops and Wolverine that lasted one frame and ended on Wolvie’s beaten body. Because Cyclops can level mountains.

    On TV I would put different sunglasses on Jeffery Donovan and just use “Burn Notice” as “the Cyclops Show.”

  13. I was going to call someone here out on not liking something for the fans ruining it, except it’d be hypocritical as I’ve done the very same thing on a number of occasions. So tarry forth and dislike him all you want.

    Still, I think Deadpool is plenty funny and that isn’t diminished by it being his character’s schtick; I mean, he’d be completely unremarkable were it not for this. Unless they gave him some kind of multifaceted, multilayered backstory with suitably developed supporting characters rounding out the whole picture. Eh. It being the diamond age and everything, I’d rather DP keep taking the piss out of comics and characters, thanks.

    But: of course his every animation in MvC3 is wacky and loony; it’s the only substance the game has. It was still present, but somewhat less loony, in Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2. But still loony all the same.

Leave a Reply

